top of page

Darling things; a love letter to Stranger Things look book. Chapter One.


Hello lovelies!

So, having an extreme love of the 80s since birth (ahem, thank you mom for the inspiration!♥) I fell in love with Stranger Things quite quickly. And I have been wanting to do this post for some time now. Since season 2 approaches us (coming in Oct. squeeeee!) why not now? This may give you some ideas for your own outfit compatibles, halloween costumes, or just the urge to play in your closet! ♥

Having said that, let's get started! Stranger things, oh how I loved every rich, sci-fi/coming of age, Goonies, E.T., Stand By Me, Steven king-esque minute of you. Bring on the sweaters, pastels, feathered hair, enamel hair accessories, converse, and tube socks. Bring on the Steven King mind powers.

Welcome to 1983.

Hawkins Indiana.

Mike Wheeler inspired look:

To me, Mike has a lot of parallels with Mikey from 1985's The Goonies (Such a favorite)! He is the leader of the squad, and holds their crew together. Plus he's the DM; AKA he probably has a backpack full of magically colored dice, and a notebook full of whimsical tales he's written himself hidden underneath his math book. He is thoughtful, perceptive, and always willing to help out a friend--and do what's right.

The Outfit:

Mike lives in stripes, and muted colors. I LOVE the early 80s look. I found a striped shirt that was somewhat off the shoulder, and one of my favorite pieces; a longish denim jacket with a brown corduroy collar, and tortoise shell-style buttons. Forest greens, tans, brown, red, green etc all work well. I think this would be great paired with black, or brown high-waisted jeans for a feminine effect.

For a spin on this look, I changed the jacket to a gorgeous tan, and brown lengthy jacket that has gorgeous corduroy accenting--it has a belt, but I wore it open for a free look. I think white converse, or the classic 80s nikes in white/varsity royal/varsity red. (I adore the look! My Mom had a pair in the 80s & they are my dream sneakers.) And, while I know mike doesn't wear glasses in the show, this is an inspired look--and I love them!

PS Don't forget your sweet bike, backpack, and supercom! over. And don't forget to say over when you're done! Over.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

El "Eleven" Inspired look:

El is a character that is near and dear to my heart. At the start of the show, she had only ever been secluded and used--never allowed to be a child. She didn't even know what a promise meant. As the show goes on, you see her inner strength and convictions surface. She realizes that what is inside us all is unique, and beautiful. She finds a family in the childlike kindness of Mike, Lucas, and Dustin. She stands up for her friends, and finds herself.

The outfit:

I adore El's outfit after the boys give her a makeover consisting of makeup, wig, and Nancy's old dress. The combo is set with tube socks in Hawkins middle school colors, blue windbreaker, and converse which gives the realistic impression that middle school boys dressed her. But, it is adorable, and it works! It is the first time i think El has been shown this sort of kindness, and she longs for pretty things of her own, like Nancy's dress. She just wants to be a child--and she finds joy in the simple things.

I chose one of my favorite dresses; a pastel pink floral number with chest pleating and a delicate peter-pan collar in white. I paired this with muted olive converse high-tops, white tube socks with black stripes, and my denim jacket with the brown corduroy collar. This is one of my favorite outfits! It is so comfy, cute, and feminine.

My favorite component is the prop I chose: My mom's original E.T doll from Christmas 1983-84ish? It is one of my most cherished possessions, and I adore the sentimentality.

I think I'll leave you with a favorite moment between Mike, and El

So, what are some of your favorite Stranger Things looks, or moments?

What are your hopes for season 2?

I personally, among other things, am pretty excited to see this fab Ghostbusters moment

❤Remember, God loves you and cares about you & what you go through!❤

Stay Peachy!

❤Live for Today, smile about Yesterday, and pray for Tomorrow!❤


bottom of page